It was a pretty big golf story so I’m guessing you heard about it: after marking her ball, Thompson replaced it in a different spot. The LPGA was alerted to the infraction by a TV viewer a day after it happened. LPGA Rules Officials reviewed the video tape and ended up assessing a heavy penalty which cost Thompson the coveted championship.
I was at the course when the news broke. Fans were outraged at LPGA Rules officials. People were screaming, “They screwed her,” and “They stole this from her!” Given their reaction, I wondered if Thompson had replaced her ball just a blade of grass from the correct spot and some viewer, some trigonometry buff using signs and cosigns, had calculated a 1/100th of an inch breach.
As Warner Wolf used to say… let’s go to […]